Eastern Massachusetts Lacrosse Hall of Fame 2017 Inductees

Two-Time Tewaaraton Recipient and Author Kristen Kjellman Marshall Inducted into Eastern Massachusetts Lacrosse Hall of Fame

Westwood, MA – Kristen Kjellman Marshall continues to earn recognition in the lacrosse community and beyond. On July 29, 2017 Kjellman Marshall joined the ranks of talented Eastern Massachusetts lacrosse standouts who have been inducted into US Lacrosse’s Hall of Fame.

The class of 2017 Eastern Massachusetts inductees include three women and four men: Kjellman Marshall; Jacqui Diggs; Suzanne Ontso; Michael Daly; John Todd; Brendan Glass; and Bruce Chanenchuk. US Lacrosse recognized the many accomplishments of its inductees during a reception at Harvard Stadium and at half-time during the Boston Cannons game on July 29.  In addition to recognizing the athletes at the game, inductees received commemorative plaques to mark the occasion.

“Kristen and her fellow inductees are no strangers to winning titles, accolades, and more,” said James Carboneau, chairman of the Eastern Massachusetts Hall of Fame for US Lacrosse. “They embody the triumphant spirit of athletes who not only succeed on their respective playing fields but also make positive contributions to schools, programs, and communities.”

For Kjellman Marshall, her impact goes beyond the lacrosse field in the form of coaching, mentoring, and writing a children’s book on lacrosse for young girls titled The ABCs of Girls’ Lacrosse. The book takes young readers on an alphabetical journey through lacrosse and introduces girls to the fast-growing sport.

“Coaching and teaching the next generation of lacrosse players has always been a passion of mine,” Kjellman Marshall said. “It’s an honor to be recognized alongside these talented lacrosse standouts who continue to contribute to the greater lacrosse community.”

On the lacrosse field, Kjellman Marshall led Westwood High School to its first state championship in 2003 and went on to be named an All-American player four times at Northwestern University. At Northwestern, she led her team to three consecutive national championships, earned the Tewaaraton Trophy twice, and won the Honda Award three times.   Recognized as the top lacrosse player in the nation, Kjellman Marshall played on the U.S. National Team and won a gold medal at the 2009 World Championship.