Cannons Announce 23-Man Protected Roster

QUINCY, M.A. – The Boston Cannons of Major League Lacrosse, the premier outdoor professional lacrosse league, announced today their 23-man roster protected list for the 2017 MLL season.  Teams may only protect 23 players each off season.  Players not protected go into the MLL Player Pool and are eligible for any team to select in the December 14 Supplemental Draft.

“Today is another step towards creating the 2017 Boston Cannons, said Cannons General Manager Kevin Barney.  “We have a great mix of veterans and young players on roster as we build towards the future.”

Co-captains’ Will Manny and Max Seibald headline the Cannons 23-man protected list along with All Stars Tyler Fiorito and Josh Hawkins.  The Cannons protected four of their six college draft picks, keeping Brandon Mullins (D/Syracuse), Challen Rogers (M/Stony Brook), Jake Mathai (M/UNC) and John Uppgren (A/Tufts).  Kylor Bellistri (A/Brown) was selected in the post collegiate season waiver draft and is also on the protected list for 2017.

“We are excited to announce our 23 man protected roster, we feel this will begin our foundation for the 2017 season, said Head Coach Sean Quirk. “It is fantastic we are able to have some many players back from our 2016 team. We look forward to adding more players as time progresses to training camp.”

BOSTON CANNONS 23-MAN ROSTER (alphabetical order)

  1. Begley, Michael – midfielder
  2. Belisle, Mitch – defenseman
  3. Bellistri, Kylor – attackman
  4. Buchanan, Kevin – midfielder
  5. Emala, David – attackman
  6. Fahey, James – defenseman
  7. Fiorito, Tyler – goalie
  8. Hawkins, Josh – midfielder
  9. Izzo, Ryan – midfielder
  10. LoCascio, Joseph – midfielder
  11. Manny, Will – attackman
  12. Mathai, Jake – midfielder
  13. McWilliams, Scott – defenseman
  14. Merrill, Brodie – defenseman
  15. Mullins, Brandon – defenseman
  16. Murphy, Jack – Goalie
  17. Nardella, Joe – midfielder/FO
  18. Pellegrino, Michael – defenseman
  19. Rogers, Challen – midfielder
  20. Seibald, Max – midfielder
  21. Turri, Justin – midfielder
  22. Uppgren, John – attackman
  23. Wiedmaier, Chad – defenseman