WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the men’s and women’s finalists for the 2016 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour. Brown junior attackman Dylan Molloy (Setauket, NY) is among the five men selected as finalists and will be invited to Washington, D.C., for the 16th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on June 2.

The five men’s finalists are:

Connor Cannizzaro, Denver – Jr., Attack

Myles Jones, Duke – Sr., Midfield

Matt Landis, Notre Dame – Sr., Defense

Dylan Molloy, Brown – Jr., Attack

Ben Reeves, Yale – Soph., Attack

“The Tewaaraton Foundation congratulates these 10 finalists (men and women) that have been chosen among many worthy candidates by the game’s top coaches on the selection committees,” said Jeffrey Harvey, chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. “We look forward to welcoming each of them and their families to Washington, D.C., on June 2.”

Brief bios of the men’s finalists:

Brown attackman Dylan Molloy leads the nation with 60 goals, 54 assists, 114 points and 6.73 points per game. The junior All-American from Setauket, N.Y., registered five or more points in 15 of 17 contests this season, helping Brown to a school-record 15 wins and the Ivy League Championship with a perfect 6-0 league mark. Molloy won his second consecutive Ivy League Player of the Year award and is the sixth player in NCAA history to post at least 50 goals and 50 assists. He helped lead Brown to a 17-9 win over Johns Hopkins in the first round of the NCAA Playoffs with four goals and four assists. The nation’s active leading scorer with 245 points, Molloy’s 114 points this season rank fourth all-time in NCAA history. He is Brown’s first Tewaaraton finalist.

Denver’s Connor Cannizzaro helped the Pioneers to the BIG EAST regular-season title and the No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament, leading the nation’s second-ranked offense with 44 goals, 23 assists and 67 points. The junior attackman from Cazenovia, N.Y., earned a spot on the AllBIG EAST First Team and was named 2016 BIG EAST Offensive Player of the Year. A 2015 first-team USILA All-American, Cannizzaro ranks sixth in the country in goals per game (2.93) and ninth in points per game (4.47). He is Denver’s second Tewaaraton finalist, following former teammate Wes Berg in 2015.

ACC Offensive Player of the Year Myles Jones is a Tewaaraton finalist for the second consecutive year. A senior midfielder from Huntington, N.Y., Jones paces Duke with 34 assists and ranks second on the squad with 33 goals and 67 points. The No. 1 pick in 2016 Major League Lacrosse Draft and a two-time USILA All-American, Jones is second among all midfielders nationally in points and points per game (3.72). This season, Jones became the first midfielder in Division I lacrosse history to score 100 goals and 100 assists in his career, and his 228 points are second-most all-time by a midfielder, trailing only Syracuse great Gary Gait’s 253. He would be the Blue Devils’ third Tewaaraton winner, joining Matt Danowski (2007) and Ned Crotty (2010).

Notre Dame defenseman Matt Landis leads the nation’s fifth-ranked scoring defense (7.69 goals per game) and earned his second consecutive ACC Defensive Player of the Year award to go with All-ACC honors. The senior captain and reigning USILA Defenseman of the Year from Pelham, N.Y., has registered 28 ground balls and 17 caused turnovers in helping the Irish to a share of the ACC regular-season crown and the No. 3 seed in the NCAA Tournament. He is Notre Dame’s third Tewaaraton finalist, and would be the team’s first award winner.

Yale attackman Ben Reeves paces the Bulldogs with 73 points, 42 goals and 31 assists, and ranks third in the nation in points and points per game (4.87). The Macedon, N.Y., native earned first-team All-Ivy honors and was named Ivy League Tournament MVP, registering nine points as the Bulldogs defeated Harvard to claim the school’s fourth league tournament title in five years. Reeves quarterbacked the nation’s 10th-ranked scoring offense to the No. 4 seed in the NCAA Tournament. He is Yale’s first Tewaaraton finalist.

The guidelines for finalists and recipient selections are as follows:


  • Finalists will be the best five players chosen without regard to institution.
  • Finalists will be selected based on individual performance and a player’s contribution to the success of their team.
  • Finalists are chosen based on the current year’s regular season performance (date of selection is at the conclusion of the regular season, before playoffs).
  • Recipients are chosen based on the current year’s regular season and playoff performance.
  • Sportsmanship can play a role in the selection process and it is important that the recipient upholds the mission and values of the Tewaaraton Award.

Media credentials are available for the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in the News and Press section Credential requests are due by Tuesday, May 31.

This year’s initial Watch Lists were announced on Feb. 23 and included the top 50 men’s and women’s college lacrosse players in the country. Two rounds of additions to the Watch Lists were announced on March 17 and April7.  The 25 men’s and women’s nominees were announced on April 29.

Under Armour returns as the proud presenting sponsor of The Tewaaraton Award in honoring the top collegiate lacrosse players in the United States.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Foundation or to attend this exciting event, visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at

About The Tewaaraton Foundation: Founded at the University Club of Washington DC and first presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit