2013 Preview Wheaton College Lyons

Wheaton College Lyons

The Wheaton College Lyons finished the 2012 season at 11-5. The Lyons’ season ended in the Pilgrim League championship at the hands of Springfield College, 11-4. Heading into the 2013 season, the Wheaton College Lyons would like to make it back to the conference championship. Their goal is to win the Pilgrim League and advance to the NCAA tournament, according to Head Coach Jamie Lockard. Lockard is heading into his 2nd season as the head coach of the Lyons’ lacrosse program. He was also the Pilgrim League coach of the year in 2012.

Leading the Wheaton College Lyons on the field this spring will be Billy McNamara, Matt Hillman and Harrison Bramhall.

Billy McNamara is a senior attackman. McNamara didn’t play for the Lyons in 2012 because he was studying aboard. In 2011, he had 22 goals and 40 assists. Coach Lockard also mentioned that McNamara is 59 points shy of breaking the Lyons’ all-time record for points in a career.

Matt Hillman is a sophomore attackman. Hillman had 27 goals and 23 assists as a freshman in 2012. He was also the Pilgrim League rookie of the year last spring.

Harrison Bramhall is a junior goalkeeper. Bramhall had 202 saves, a .645 save percentage and a 7.21 goals-against average in 2012. He was a 1st team All-Pilgrim League selection last spring.

In the Pilgrim League, the favorite is Springfield College. They (Springfield) are trying to defend their Pilgrim League title for the 6th season, according to Coach Lockard. Coach Lockard believes a dark-horse in the Pilgrim League is Babson College. A player that NE Lax Blog is going to keep an eye on this spring is Ryan Murphy. Murphy is a junior attackman who had a breakout offensive season last spring.