2013 Preview New England College Pilgrims

New England College Pilgrims

The New England College Pilgrims finished the 2012 season with a 12-7 record. The Pilgrims were the regular season and conference tournament champions of the North Atlantic Conference. For all of their hard work, they were rewarded with an automatic bid into the Division III NCAA tournament. Unfortunately, the Pilgrims lost in the first round to RIT, 18-4. Leading the Pilgrims in 2013 will be Head Coach Curtis Gilbert. Coach Gilbert is entering his sixth season as the head coach at New England College. The expectations heading into 2013 for the Pilgrims are to win the conference championship again, as well as a first round game in the NCAA tournament, according to Coach Gilbert. He continues to say they are playing a very competitive out-of-conference schedule and would like to win at least four of those games.

Leading the charge for the New England College Pilgrims in 2013 will be Brian Gillis, James Putney and Pat Miles.

Brian Gillis is a senior attackman. Gillis had 48 goals and 25 assists, as well as 8 man-up goals in 2012. He was a 1st team All-NAC selection in 2012, and a preseason honorable mention All-American selection for 2013.

James Putney is a senior attackman. Putney had 32 goals and 32 assists last spring. He was a 2nd team All-NAC selection in 2012.

Pat Miles is a junior long stick midfielder. Miles had 6 goals, 9 assists, 76 groundballs and 46 caused turnovers. He was a 1st team All-NAC selection in 2012.

In the NAC, the favorite seems to be the New England College Pilgrims. According to Coach Gilbert, “we won the conference last year, so I believe we should repeat that feat.” According to Coach Gilbert, a team to watch out for in 2013 is Castleton State. He continues to say, “They have a very talented squad and have the ability to win the conference as they have in the past.” A player NE Lax Blog is going to keep an eye on in 2013 is Zach Davidson. Davidson is sophomore attackman from Castleton State; he also was the NAC rookie of the year in 2012.