2013 NEILA Preseason Poll and All-NEILA Division II

Merrimack Named NEILA DII Preseason Favorite

FAIRFIELD, CT – The Merrimack Warriors have been nominated to the top spot in the first NEILA Coaches Poll of the 2013 season. Saint Michael’s, Saint Anselm, Bentley, and Franklin Pierce round out the top five in that order.

Merrimack, a 13-3 (8-2) squad from a year ago, returns the high power duo of 2012 NE-10 Player of the Year, Greg Melaugh who led the nation in points (4.38) and goals (3.33) per game and 2013 Division II Preseason Player of the Year, Corey Lunney (Little Silver, NJ), who led the NE-10 with 45 goals and 59 points. The War-

riors lost in the Northeast 10 Championship game last season to Le Moyne. Merrimack has advanced to the Northeast-10 title game in each of the past four seasons.

Saint Michael’s comes in at #2, the Purple Knights return senior

leading scorer Pete Donnally, who scored a team high 43 goals last season and senior Marty Vanzo, who posted 32 goals of his own from a team that went 11-5 last season.

Saint Anselm comes in at the third spot, after going 8-7 last season. The Hawks return last year’s leading scorer junior Andrew Messner. Messner tallied 17 goals and 17 assists during the 2011-12 campaign.

The Bentley Falcons are in the fourth spot, returning 33 players from a team that went 5-5 in the North- east 10. Bentley has lost their three top scorers from a year ago. The Falcons top scoreers coming back are senior Nick Caditza and junior Nick Astarita.

Franklin Pierce rounds out the poll at the fifth position. The Ravens are coming off a season in which they went 7-6, marking the first time in program history they had a winning record.. FPU returns their leading scorer from 2011-12, Eddie Noonan, who notched 21 goals last season.

Preseason Coaches Poll

1. Merrimack
2. Saint Michael’s
3. Saint Anselm
4. Bentley
5. Franklin Pierce


Preseason All-NEILA Division II Team


Jon O’Reilly – Saint Anselm


Jimmy Holland – Merrimack
Brandon Waiter – Merrimack
Neil Kelly – Saint Michael’s
Billy Sweeney – Bentley


Ryan Woodford – SNHU


Mike Perdie – Merrimack
Steve Caditz – Bentley
Corey Lunney – Merrimack
Andrew Messner – Saint Anselm
DJ Brown – Merrimack


Greg Melaugh – Merrimack
Marty Vanzo – Saint Michael’s
Peter Donnally -Saint Michael’s
Eddie Noonan – Franklin Pierce